Adoption of further sanctions against Russia and Belarus

Adoption of further sanctions against Russia and Belarus

On 8 April 2022, the European Union adopted further sanctions against Russia and certain restrictive measures against Belarus, in light of Russia’s continuing military aggression against Ukraine and reports of atrocities in Bucha.

The EU’s fifth package covers measures in the areas of trade, finance and transport. These include bans on imports of coal and other goods that serve as important sources of revenue for Russia (such as wood, cement, seafood and vodka), and an export ban on kerosene and other goods that could contribute to strengthening Russia’s industrial capacity (including industrial robots and certain chemicals). The EU also imposed a ban on the participation of Russian companies in public procurement, new financial sanctions, particularly with regard to trusts, and a ban on financial support for Russian public institutions. Furthermore, the EU has imposed a ban on Russian and Belarusian road transport undertakings preventing them from transporting goods by road within the EU, and a ban on access to EU ports for Russian vessels.

On 13 April 2022, the Swiss Federal Council took the decision to amend the Swiss sanction regime and to adopt these new EU measures against Russia and Belarus with the exception of the transport bans, the adoption of which is not necessary for Switzerland due to its geographic location. Furthermore, the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER) has imposed financial sanctions and travel restrictions on a further 200 individuals. Two of President Putin’s daughters are among the individuals newly sanctioned. According to the Federal Council’s press release, Switzerland’s list of sanctions would now fully mirror that of the EU.

These are the upcoming dates for our Annual General Meetings:

Thursday, 21 March 2024
Thursday, 20 March 2025